Cloudflare IPs rather than user IPs in log

Home Forums BulletProof Security Free Cloudflare IPs rather than user IPs in log

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Aventura
    Participant

Hi

In my BPS security logs it only shows cloudlfare’s IP address rather than the IP they are forwarding even though it looks (to me and I’m no expert) that it believes it is displaying the forwarded Ip too under “HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR”. Is there a way to fix this or is this correct behaviour and the logs cannot show the users IP? An example:

>>>>>>>>>>> 403 GET or Other Request Error Logged - May 19, 2013 - 11:12 am <<<<<<<<<<<
    REMOTE_ADDR: 108.162.221.92
    Host Name: 108.162.221.92
    HTTP_CLIENT_IP:
    HTTP_FORWARDED:
    HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR: 108.162.221.92
    HTTP_X_CLUSTER_CLIENT_IP:
    REQUEST_METHOD: GET
    HTTP_REFERER:
    REQUEST_URI: /sitemap.xml
    QUERY_STRING:
    HTTP_USER_AGENT:
    AITpro Admin
    Keymaster

To tell you the truth I am not really sure what cloudflare does exactly.  I am aware that any CDN service changes your DNS information in a way that you can never find out your true DNS info anymore, which makes things very difficult to troubleshoot, but that is just one of the minor downsides to using cloud services.

The error looks suspicious.  Any respectable request is going to have a valid User Agent.  The User Agent is blank in this error/request.  That usually indicates either a spammer or a hacker is doing something – scraping, probing, sniffing, recon, etc etc etc.

You can just ignore this.

Aventura
    Participant

Well I don’t know how it does it but it does pass the real IP address along via “HTTP_CF_CONNECTING_IP” but I think its possible to get it without directly looking for that as MyBB has a “scrutinise user’s IP address” setting which looks for: HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR or HTTP_X_REAL_IP headers.

AITpro Admin
    Keymaster