root htaccess file preventing access to subdomain – 403 Forbidden error

Home Forums BulletProof Security Free root htaccess file preventing access to subdomain – 403 Forbidden error

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Nawaz Khan
    Participant

Hi,

I am a registered BPS Pro user but this issue relates to BPS Free. My root .htaccess is preventing access to sub domain with 403 Forbidden.

I have trawled many of the posts relating to this issue – but cannot figure out what rules I need in my sub domain’s .htaccess to allow the sub domain to function correctly.

WordPress is installed in root and sub domain. DNS set up correctly. And static HTML file in sub domain to eliminate any WordPress specific redirection issue. Can you advise?

Many thanks.
    Nawaz

AITpro Admin
    Keymaster

What is the folder structure for all sites? What types of WordPress installations are each site? Single/Standard, Network/Multisite, Giving WordPress its Own Directory (GWIOD)? Is your subdomain site setup correctly? A subdomain site requires that you create a DNS A record or CNAME record and point the record to the folder where you installed the subdomain site. If the site is actually a subdirectory installation and not a subdomain site then you do not need to make DNS Changes. What is the URL structure? Please explain exactly what this means and what is in the file – “And static HTML file in sub domain to eliminate any WordPress specific redirection issue”.

Examples:
    /public_html/ – site is installed in the root folder
    /public_html/SiteA/ – SiteA is installed in the SiteA folder – SiteA could be either a subdirectory site or a subdomain site.

URL Examples:
    example.com
    subdomain.example.com
    example.com/subdirectory

Nawaz Khan
    Participant

Single WP installs
    Main site resides in root /public_html/ [www.domain.com]
    test clone of main site in /public_html/test/ [test.domain.com]