htaccess File Editor and Custom Code

Home Forums BulletProof Security Pro htaccess File Editor and Custom Code

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  AITpro Admin 2 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #29071

    dtyler1
    Participant

    I have a couple questions about how the .htaccess File Editor and Autorestore quarantine work together.

    When edits are done via the ‘.htaccess File Editor’ to the ‘current root htaccess file’ and saved with the ‘update file’ button, then this updated file is also backed up for AutoRestore  to check against for any tampering to the file during scans?

    The secure.htaccess file is not changed with this update unless those changes are made in the ‘Custom Code’ page editing fields. If  changes are made in the Custom Code editing field and “save custom root code’ button is selected, then the secure.htaccess file is updated along with the ‘your current root .htaccess file’ and a backed up copy for AutoRestore is made to check against for any tampering to the file during scans?

    #29073

    AITpro Admin
    Keymaster

    Obsolete BPS no longer uses this feature:  Note:  This text has been updated to current features:  Yes, when you edit any htaccess files directly with the htaccess File Editor a copy of your edited htaccess file is sent to the AutoRestore file backup folder.  When you save any htaccess code to any Root Custom Code text box by clicking the Save Root Custom Code button your htaccess code is saved to your WordPress Database.  When you click the Root Folder BulletProof Mode Activate button your saved Custom Code that has been previously saved to your WordPress Database is created in the secure.htaccess Master file and your Live root htaccess file and the AutoRestore file backup folder.  The important difference between directly editing files using the htaccess File Editor and using Custom Code is that when you save any/all htaccess code to the Custom Code text boxes your htaccess code is saved permanently to your Database.  When you use the htaccess File Editor your htaccess code editing changes are not saved permanently and will be overwritten the next time you click the Create secure.htaccess File AutoMagic button.  So any htaccess code that you want to save permanently should always be saved in the Custom Code text boxes.

    #29074

    dtyler1
    Participant

    Obsolete BPS no longer uses this feature:  I have an additional question relating to how the ‘htaccess file security modes’ works with creating and restoring default secure.htaccess and default.htaccess.

    When the automagic buttons create a new copy the default.htaccess file, this would be the copy that includes any changes we have made using the ‘custom code’ editing fields, is this correct?

    #29075

    dtyler1
    Participant

    Thank you, that really helps me understand the BPS loop and exceptions.

    #29076

    AITpro Admin
    Keymaster

    Obsolete BPS no longer uses this feature:  The Create default.htaccess File AutoMagic button creates a generic WordPress htaccess block of code without any BPS security code in it.  Activating Default Mode replaces your existing root htaccess file with this generic root htaccess file that does not have any BPS security code in it. The default.htaccess file does not use any code in BPS Custom Code and is just a generic WordPress root htaccess file.

    For additional help information click the AutoMagic, Setup Steps & Other Help Info Read Me help button on the B-Core > Security Modes page.

    #29080

    dtyler1
    Participant

    Obsolete BPS no longer uses this feature:  So, if a person must delete the root .htaccess to gain access to their site, the auto magic button alone will create a generic .htaccess but the  ‘Activate Root Folder BulletProof Mode’ must be selected to copy the the contents of the secure.htacess to the current root htaccess file?

     

     

    #29085

    AITpro Admin
    Keymaster

    Obsolete BPS no longer uses this feature:  You would select (click the Radio button option) whichever Mode you want to use and then click the Activate|Deactivate button to activate|deactivate it.  The AutoMagic buttons only create Master htaccess files, which you then need to activate|deactivate.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.