Presales Questions

Home Forums BulletProof Security Pro Presales Questions

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Raphael
    Participant

High community,
    I am very new to BPS and have some beginner questions. Thanks for helping me with the start. 😉

One of my websites is hacked and I installed it in a protected area and removed all plugins besides BPS. After running a test, I can see several suspicious files and several suspicious entries in the DB. My technical level: I am a web designer with high knowledge of HTML/CSS, medium knowledge of PHP and basic knowledge of JS and MySQL.

My questions:
    1) Is there a tool for removing the marked entries in the DB? In the paid version I see some tools that might be helpful. But I am afraid that I need a tool that is really simple to use, cause my knowledge of MySQL is really not very high.  Without that tool, it would be hard to remove these parts, cause I only have basic knowledge of Databases.

2) If I bought the paid version: Does the paid version scan deeper or has any other advantages for the process of cleaning the site?

Thanks
    Raphael

AITpro Admin
    Keymaster

If the suspicious code in your database is actually hacker code then it would require hacker files in order to be able to do anything.  That is the same principle as all other standard PHP/MySQL code processing.  ie the DB is the content source and the files are the framework/delivery method to deliver your content.  In a nutshell, that means that once you remove all hacker files and code from all files under your hosting account then if there is hacker code in your DB it will be rendered ineffective.  There is only one exception and that is if the hacker has injected spam links into your DB under the wp_posts table.  Injected spam links can work independently using standard WP Core code.  So you would simply delete any/all injected spam links in your wp_posts table.