Alleged conflict between Clearfy remove comments function and JTC AntiSpam

Home Forums BulletProof Security Pro Alleged conflict between Clearfy remove comments function and JTC AntiSpam

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    GdS87
    Participant

Hello AIT-pro,

I’m a self-taught WordPress user with limited coding skills. I am new to Bulletproof and I am really glad it makes security via htaccess so easy that even I can make it work in a few clicks (thank you).

While playing in a Laragon staging site, I may have found a conflict between: BPS-PRO JTC AntiSpam and Webcraftic Clearfy Remove HTML Comments function.

When “Remove HTML Comments” is active, JTC’s tooltip doesn’t display properly. Instead, the hint message appears as a sliding text in the bottom-left side of the screen. The issue is almost as described in #post-19510 but with no tooltip at all (I have an almost identical screenshot, but I can’t figure out how to post it). No errors recorded in BPS or debug logs. I could stage it in a fresh WordPress install featuring only both plugins’ settings active at the same time.

It seems to me that Clearfy is preventing JTC’s output from showing properly by accidentally removing some required lines of code. So, the quick fix (for BPS users who might need it) is to disable Clearfy’s remove HTML comments functionality. JTC’s tooltip immediately starts working again as expected.

I chose to report this issue because the alleged conflicting functionality seems quite popular in optimization, minification and caching plugins. My concern is that JTC may be targeted by set-and-forget plugins, but I haven’t tried it yet and I’m not clever enough to find out why. Clearfy functionality hints state that it doesn’t target “special comments”. If this was true for other similar plugins, there may be a way to prevent JTC’s Tooltip from breaking in a similar scenario.

I hope it makes sense,

Kindest Regards, GdS.

AITpro Admin
    Keymaster