aMember conflict – PHP Fatal error: Cannot redeclare __e()

Home Forums BulletProof Security Pro aMember conflict – PHP Fatal error: Cannot redeclare __e()

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Timbo
    Participant

Hello everyone!
    I just bought BulletProof Security Pro, very good stuff I must say. Unfortunately though, I have run into a conflict on my site *solved though*.
    I’m running aMember Pro (membership management, content protection), and it seems it has declared a function that is also declared by BPS Pro – “__e()” (located in Class.php). This is causing a Fatal Error, see error output below:

PHP Fatal error:  Cannot redeclare __e() (previously declared in /var/www/html/members/library/Am/App.php:1193) in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/bulletproof-security/includes/class.php on line 90

aMember Version: 4.2.14.3b7ee0a
    BPS Pro Version: 5.5
    I’m not an expert by any means, but I presume the function is merely used for error display, perhaps formatting?
    As aMember used to be completely separate from WordPress, I presume this has now come to light a result of a feature in aMember which allows you to wrap your WordPress theme around the aMember member side pages, an effort to integrate aMember more seamlessly into WordPress. This (I imagine) combines a lot of the WordPress code with the aMember code, thus the conflict only on aMember pages.
    Anyway, I searched all the aMember code for any instances of “__e” which returned 319 matches, sigh… I searched BPS Pro and found only one other instance, in activation.php. So, the obvious choice was to manually change the function name and associated reference in BPS Pro to remove the conflict.
    I changed it from “__e” to “___e” (an extra “_” if you missed it). Obviously I don’t want to make this change every time I update BPS Pro, so would it be possible for someone with the appropriate powers to change this function name in future versions?
    Many thanks!