malware not being detected

Home Forums BulletProof Security Free malware not being detected

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Nicnack
    Participant

Hi! I am new to this plugin and firstly I just want to be sure I understand how it’s supposed to work. I thought that it would scan my website for malware. Is that correct?  I’m asking because I got an email from GoDaddy this morning saying that my site has malware, so I logged in and first had to update the bulletproof plugin then I had to complete the setup.. but it’s not saying anything about detecting malware.  Any guidance would be appreciated.

Nicole

AITpro Admin
    Keymaster

Currently the BPS free plugin does not have a malware scanner, but we will be adding a malware scanner in BPS 2.1.  BPS Pro has something much better than a typical malware scanner:  AutoRestore|Quarantine Intrusion Detection and Prevention System (ARQ IDPS):  https://forum.ait-pro.com/forums/topic/autorestore-quarantine-guide-read-me-first/  We will also be adding a malware scanner in BPS Pro 13.1 as a convenience feature.  Example:  Someone would like to know if their website is already hacked before (“before” meaning at first BPS Pro installation) installing BPS Pro.  They would use the malware scanner to confirm that their website/hosting account is already hacked.  They would then cleanup their hosting account of all hacker files/code.  Malware scanners are an “after the fact” security measure and BPS Pro ARQ IDPS is a real-time automated protection system that stops the hack before it is successful by automatically quarantining hacker files that were uploaded/added to a hosting account/website.